GIC rate update

TD Offers a 4.00% 18-Month GIC as Saven Lifts Its 1-Year Rate to 4.00%

Rates as of November 5, 2026  Compared with our November 2 check

Key takeaways
  • TD now has a 4.00% special on an 18-month non-cashable GIC, which it calls its Diwali Special. On November 2 the 18-month special paid 3.25%. It is the highest Canadian-dollar rate we recorded at any Big Six bank. TD lists it at every amount, in non-registered accounts and in a TFSA, RSP, FHSA, RRIF or RESP, and its page shows no end date.
  • Saven raised its 1-year GIC from 3.80% to 4.00%, which ties Haventree Bank for second behind WealthONE at 4.05%. Saven also cut its 4-month GIC from 3.20% to 3.00%.
  • Haventree Bank raised three terms: 2-year 4.00% → 4.10%, 3-year 4.15% → 4.20% and 4-year 4.20% → 4.25%. That puts it alone in third place at 3 and 4 years. Its 1-year (4.00%) and 5-year (4.30%) did not change.
  • Coast Capital raised its 2- to 5-year GICs by 15 to 20 basis points, to 3.60% / 3.75% / 3.85% / 4.00%. It stays out of the ranking because its rate page does not state how often interest is paid.
  • WealthONE still leads every term from 1 to 5 years, up to 4.55%. Oaken, EQ Bank, Tangerine, Achieva, Hubert, Simplii and Manulife held their 1- to 5-year rates, and the best Big Six 1-year rate is still 3.00%.

GIC specials this week

Bank and GICRateConditions
Vancity364-day USD Short-Term Redeemable Term Deposit (special), 364 days4.25%US dollars; new deposits to Vancity
TDTD Special Offer GIC, 18 months4.00%Limited time
RBCU.S. Dollar Term Deposit, 1 year4.00%US dollars; book an appointment
Libro18-month GIC special (new funds), 18 months3.85%new funds; by phone or appointment only
Vancity13-month Non-Redeemable Term Deposit (special offer), 13 months3.75%Limited time
ATBGrow Alberta GIC, 18 months3.70%Limited time
DesjardinsOnline Term S@vings (promotional), 26 months3.60%Limited time
Innovation Credit Union1-Year New Money GIC (special), 1 year3.60%new money; ends November 15
RBCNon-Redeemable GIC, 5 years3.55%Limited time
DesjardinsTerm Savings (promotional, branch), 29 months3.50%Limited time
ScotiabankNon-Redeemable GIC (special), 2 years3.50%Limited time
Conexus3-year non-redeemable term deposit (offer), 3 years3.45%Limited time
CIBCCIBC Bonus Rate GIC, 2 years3.20%Limited time
Coast Capital1 Year Redeemable GIC – New Money (featured), 1 year3.00%net new funds deposited on or after Aug 17, 2026; branch or advice centre only

Specials are time-limited and are not ranked against the standard rates below. Confirm the terms on the bank’s own site.

Top GIC rates this week, by term

TermHighest rates this week
1 year
  1. WealthONE4.05%
  2. Haventree Bank / Saven4.00%
  3. Achieva / Outlook3.95%
Big Six best: BMO / CIBC / RBC / TD 3.00%
2 years
  1. WealthONE4.30%
  2. Saven Financial4.25%
  3. Oaken Financial4.20%
Big Six best: Scotiabank 3.50% (special rate)
3 years
  1. WealthONE4.40%
  2. Oaken / Saven4.30%
  3. Haventree Bank4.20%
Big Six best: BMO / CIBC / TD 3.30%
4 years
  1. WealthONE4.45%
  2. Oaken / Saven4.35%
  3. Haventree Bank4.25%
Big Six best: CIBC 3.40% (investment account)
5 years
  1. WealthONE4.55%
  2. Oaken / Saven4.50%
  3. Achieva / Outlook4.35%
Big Six best: CIBC 3.60% (investment account)

Standard rates: Canadian-dollar, non-registered, non-redeemable GICs with annual or at-maturity interest. Bank names link to each bank’s own rate page.

What changed since November 2

BankTermBeforeNowChange
Saven Financial4 months / 1 year3.20 / 3.80%3.00 / 4.00%−20 to +20 bp
Haventree Bank2 years / 3 years / 4 years4.00 / 4.15 / 4.20%4.10 / 4.20 / 4.25%+5 to +10 bp
TD (special)18 months3.25%4.00%+75 bp
Coast Capital2 years / 3 years / 4 years / 5 years3.40 / 3.60 / 3.70 / 3.80%3.60 / 3.75 / 3.85 / 4.00%+15 to +20 bp

The TD row is a special and the Coast Capital row is not ranked (its rate page does not state how often interest is paid). Coast Capital’s table is dated November 2, and its page showed the BC region when we read it. Haventree Bank’s registered column moved by the same amounts at 2, 3 and 4 years, and its 3-month rate went from 2.60% to 2.55%. We could not read MCAN’s rate page, so MCAN is not in the ranking.

Our take

Eight days after the Bank of Canada’s October 28 hike, the increases are still coming one bank at a time. Saven and Haventree Bank moved this week, Tangerine and Achieva moved earlier, and Oaken’s table has been dated October 16 through all of it. EQ Bank raised several savings rates on November 3 but left its GICs alone.

TD’s special is the one to look at if you already bank there. Its posted rates are 3.00% for 1 year and 3.20% for 2 years, so 4.00% for 18 months is well above its own table. It also matches Tangerine’s 18-month rate and comes close to WealthONE’s 4.10%. On $10,000, 4.00% earns about $600 over 18 months before any compounding, against about $615 at 4.10%. The GIC is non-cashable, and TD says its special offers are available for a limited time, so check that it is still listed before you plan around it. TD also raised its short-term non-cashable GICs this week, to 2.05% for 30 to 90 days and 2.40% for 120 to 270 days.

Specials are not ranked against standard rates, and 18 months is not one of the terms in our table, so TD does not appear in the ranking below.

How we checked

On November 5, 2026 we read the GIC rate pages of 29 Canadian banks and credit unions and recorded every rate shown. How we check these rates →

Keep comparing

The best GIC rates in Canada page always shows the ranking from our latest check. For one bank over time, see our reviews of TD GIC rates, CIBC GIC rates, EQ Bank GIC rates and Oaken GIC rates, each with every rate change we have recorded.

General information, not financial advice. Rates are taken from each institution’s website on the date shown and can change at any time. Confirm the current rate and conditions with the institution before you invest.